Two partners handle corporate litigation for the firm: Pierre-Olivier Chartier and Judith Vuillez. They are assisted by several associates: Adriana Biscan, Sandrine Haddad, Laetitia Politi, Pierre-Olivier Rocchi and Guillaume Soubiran.

Judith Vuillez and Pierre-Oliver Chartier are known for their technical expertise, their ability to provide bespoke services, their strong commitment in strategic and complex matters, their ability to understand operational issues and their responsiveness.

The firm regularly represents its clients in all types of corporate law-related disputes: failure to perform or termination of contracts, commercial practices, distribution, unfair competition, conflicts between shareholders, liabilities guarantee, defence against consumer associations (unfair terms, misleading commercial practices, etc.).

Judith Vuillez and Pierre-Olivier Chartier have also developed specialist expertise in trademark, advertising and product regulation law (especially in the tobacco and alcohol industries), telecoms, media, new technologies and energy law, representing top-tier clients in high stakes disputes.

In contact with international correspondents on an ongoing basis, they are also accustomed to handling complex international litigation during cross-border legal proceedings or arbitration. Finally, given that the firm has a partly international clientele, our litigators speak fluent English.

 


Legal 500 2019 France


Dispute resolution: commercial litigation

 


The ‘very client-oriented’ CBR & Associés is ‘business-focused and quick to respond’, and its work is ‘precise, clear and of a high quality’. The firm continues to distinguish itself through its impressive caseload: representing Kaefer Wanner, the firm negotiated France’s first judicial convention of public interest, with a monitoring obligation from the French anti-bribery agency, since such agreements were introduced by the French anti-corruption law Sapin II. The nine-lawyer team is particularly recommended for high-stakes commercial and consumer disputes, and has a strong presence in the telecoms, media and audiovisual sectors. Key client SFR regularly instructs the firm for its strategic matters. British American Tobacco is another longstanding client, and recently instructed the firm to defend its interests in the “Filtergate” case relating to the manipulation of filters by tobacco manufacturers, while Direct Energie instructed the firm to defend it against claims relating to allegedly abusive clauses in its terms and conditions initiated by consumer association UFC Que Choisir. TF1 Publicité, Adidas, Procter & Gamble, Eurovia and Lagardère Active are also clients. Pierre-Olivier Chartier is ‘fully and continuously dedicated to his clients and cases’, ‘explores all the possibilities and strategies available in a case before providing his advice, and manages to find all the possible legal arguments and facts that may come in useful, even when they were totally unexpected or overlooked’. Judith Vuillez is praised for her ‘very practical approach, excellent speed and very high quality of responses’, and her ability ‘to anticipate possible moves by opponents’. In addition, she has ‘great knowledge of the tobacco industry’.

Deux associés interviennent en contentieux des affaires : Pierre-Olivier Chartier et Judith Vuillez. Ils sont assistés par plusieurs collaborateurs : Adriana Biscan, Sandrine Haddad, Laetitia Politi, Pierre-Olivier Rocchi et Guillaume Soubiran.

Judith Vuillez et Pierre-Olivier Chartier sont réputés pour leur expertise technique, leur capacité à fournir des services sur-mesure, leur implication forte dans les dossiers stratégiques et complexes, leur faculté de compréhension des problématiques opérationnelles et leur extrême réactivité.

Le Cabinet représente régulièrement ses clients dans tout type de litige lié au droit des affaires : inexécution et rupture de contrats, pratiques commerciales, distribution, concurrence déloyale, conflits entre actionnaires, garantie de passif, défense contre des associations de consommateurs (clauses abusives, pratiques commerciales trompeuses,…).

Judith Vuillez et Pierre-Olivier Chartier ont également développé une expertise pointue en matière de droit des marques, de publicité et de règlementation des produits (notamment dans les secteurs du tabac et de l’alcool), de télécoms, de médias, de nouvelles technologies et d’énergie, en représentant dans ces domaines des clients de premier plan dans le cadre de contentieux à forts enjeux.

En contacts permanents avec leurs correspondants étrangers, ils ont également l’habitude de traiter des contentieux internationaux complexes à l’occasion de procédures judiciaires transfrontalières ou d’arbitrage. Enfin, la clientèle du cabinet étant en partie internationale, les avocats intervenant en contentieux, maitrisent parfaitement l’anglais.

 


Legal 500 2019 France


Les contentieux commerciaux

 


CBR & Associés, « très orienté client », “orienté métier et réactif», son travail est « précis, clair et de grande qualité ». Le cabinet continue de se distinguer par son volume d’affaires impressionnant : représentant Kaefer Wanner, le cabinet a négocié la première convention judiciaire d’intérêt public, avec une obligation de de contrôle de la part l’agence anti-corruption française, de tels accords ayant été introduits par la loi française anti-corruption Sapin II. L’équipe de neuf avocats est particulièrement recommandée pour les litiges commerciaux et de droit de la consommation à fort enjeux, et a une forte présence dans les secteurs des télécommunications, des médias et de l’audiovisuel. Le client clé SFR désigne régulièrement le cabinet pour ses affaires stratégiques. British American Tobacco est un autre client de longue date, qui a récemment nommé le cabinet pour le défendre dans le dossier du « Filtergate » relatif à la manipulation par les producteurs de tabac des filtres, alors que Direct Energie a désigné le cabinet pour le défendre contre des demandes au titre de clauses de ses conditions générales alléguées comme étant abusives par l’association UFC Que Choisir. TF1 Publicité, Adidas, Procter & Gamble, Eurovia et Lagardère Active sont aussi clients. Pierre-Olivier Chartier est « “entièrement et continuellement dédié à ses clients et dossiers », « explore toutes les possibilités et stratégies disponibles dans un dossier avant de donner son avis et parvient à trouver tous les arguments juridiques et les faits pouvant être utiles», même quand ils sont totalement inattendus ou négligés. Judith Vuillez est louée pour « son approche très pratique, son excellente célérité et sa grande qualité de réponse », sa capacité à « anticiper les stratégies de ses adversaires ». En outre, elle a « une grande connaissance de l’industrie du tabac ».

 

Décideurs juridiques 2018 :

Le cabinet est classé « forte notoriété » en contentieux commercial « excellent » en droit des télécommunications et « pratique réputé » en droit de l’informatique et droit de l’internet ».